EERA Geothermal has organised its work within seven subprogrammes:

  • SP1 Assessment of Geothermal Resources (coordinator: Eugenio Trumpy, CNR)
    1. Interdisciplinary 3D geothermal knowledge
    2. Assessment of resource potential
    3. Implementation of European Geothermal Information System/Platform
  • SP2 Exploration of Geothermal Reservoirs (coordinator: Jan Diedrik van Wees, TNO)
    1. Enhanced conceptual models and integrated workflows
    2. Cost effective imaging and integrated geoscience based methods
    3. Test and validation in natural laboratories
  • SP3 Engineering of Geothermal Wells and Resources (coordinator: Martin Saar, ETHZ)
    1. Methods for geothermal drilling
    2. Wellbore performance
    3. Engineering hydrothermal systems
    4. Hydraulic, Thermal and/or Chemical Stimulation
    5. Alternative engineered geothermal systems
    6. Induced microseismicity and monitoring technologies
  • SP4 Energy Conversion Systems (coordinator: Paola Bombarda, POLIMI)
    1. Increasing plant performance, reliability and operation flexibility
    2. Minimizing environmental impact
    3. Development and optimization of large scale, high temperature heat pumps
    4. Widespread adoption of underground thermal energy storage
    5. Integration of underground thermal energy storage in the energy conversion system and district heating and cooling network
  • SP5 Operation of Geothermal Systems (coordinator: Thomas Kohl, KIT)
    1. Sustainability of reservoir and environmental risk
    2. Longevity of materials
    3. Economics and upscaling
  • SP6 Sustainability, Environment and Regulatory Framework (coordinator: Francesco Rizzi, SSSUP)
    1. Identifying business dynamics and business models able to effectively foster geothermal energy development
    2. Improving project sustainability by effectively managing socio-economic acceptability
    3. Developing socio-economic and environmental assessment of geothermal installations’ performances
  • SP7 Computing and Data Management (coordinator: Florian Wellmann, Fraunhofer IEG)
    1. Build and share expertise about sustainable research data management plans and strategies
    2. Disseminate experience about computing and numerical simulation codes
    3. Exchange knowledge about data science and machine learning aspects
    4. Foster collaboration for large-scale computing grant applications